All compositions published by the American Composers Alliance:

  • 2019 Retro Variations for percussion ensemble. Commissioned and premiered by the Oberlin Percussion Group, Michael Rosen, director. Tuesday November 26, Warner Concert Hall, Oberlin College and Conservatory.
  • 2019 After Agnes Martin for soprano and solo percussion. Premiered by Stacey Mastrian and Simone Mancuso. Kerr Cultural Center, Scottsdale AZ, November 19, 2019.
  • 2018 Sanjo Variations for Gayageum quartet. Written for and commissioned by the Gyeonggi Gayageum Ensemble. Premiered at the National Gugak Center, Seoul, Korea, December 2, 2018.
  • 2017 Lost in the Woods, an opera in one act for soprano and percussion (quintet or quartet). Written for and premiered by Stacey Mastrian and the Akros Percussion Collective, University of Akron, October 9, 2017.
  • 2016 One Far Noise for solo tam-tam and electronics. Written for and premiered by Simone Mancuso, German-American Institute (DAI) Heidelberg, Germany, July 2016.
  • 2016 Paradise Between for solo clarinet (live and recorded). Written for and premiered by Keith Lemmons, March 11, 2016.
  • 2015 GLOCK for solo glockenspiel. Written for and premiered by Aaron Michael Butler, Michigan State University, February 12, 2016.
  • 2015 World's End Preludes for solo piano. Written for and premiered by Emanuele Arciuli, University of New Mexico, March 29, 2016.
  • 2015 4-7-3 (revision of water/peace) for two percussionists and electronics. World Premiere
  • 2013
    Walden Miniatures for Mixed Chorus. Written for and premiered by Haverford High School Chamber Singers, Marsha Core, director, Ardmore Presbyterian Church, Ardmore, PA, February 2014.
  • 2012-2013
    Centenary Fragment. Written for and premiered by Chatter, University of New Mexico, March 2013. Video by Hee Sook Kim.
  • 2012
    Circlings for String Quartet, electronics and video (by Hee Sook Kim). Premiered by Del Sol String Quartet, March 2012.
  • 2010
    Circlings for four gayageums, electronics and video (by Hee Sook Kim). Written for and premiered by Gyeonggi Gayageum Ensemble, Haverford College, October 2010.
  • 2009
    From Waldmusik: Wind, Water, Walk. Premiered at Christopher Shultis 20-year retrospective concert.
  • 2008-2009
    From Waldmusik: Wissahickon, Pulpit Rock, French Creek. Written for and commissioned by Paul Hoffmann, piano; Tom Goldstein, percussion. World Premiere, Baltimore Maryland, October 2010. Video (2013) by Hee Sook Kim.
  • 2008
    Devisidero: Six Preludes for Solo Piano. Written for Curt Cacioppo. Premiere, John Donald Robb Composers' Symposium, April 2008.
  • 2007
    Encounter: a collaborative installation by Hee Sook Kim (visuals) and Christopher Shultis (texts, sound).
    UNM Art Museum, February-April 2007.
  • 2004-2007
    Openings for winds and percussion. First Movement, "Mouth" Premiere, Popejoy Hall, UNM. UNM Wind Symphony, Eric Rombach-Kendall, conductor.
  • 2003
    Songs of Love and Longing (2001-2003) for soprano and piano. Premiere, Keller Hall, UNM, April 2004, Leslie Umphrey, soprano, Falko Steinbach, piano.
  • 2002
    Four Romantic Miniatures for piano solo.
    Premiere, New Mexico Music Teachers Association Conference, Las Vegas, NM, Falko Steinbach, piano.
    Commissioned by the New Mexico Music Teachers Association.
  • 2000
    "a little light, in great darkness" for soprano saxophone and woodwind quintet.
    Premiere, UNM Composers' Symposium, Carrie Koffman, soprano saxophone, New Mexico Winds.
  • 1994
    Written on the Body for musicians and dancers.
  • 1991-1993
    Blindness for solo Marimba. Video performance by Erica Jett.
    U.S. Premiere, UNM Composers' Symposium, Fred Bugbee, marimbist.
    European Premiere, Manchester, England, Robert Van Sice, marimbist.
  • 1992
    Do Something; Do Something Else.
    Premiered at New Music Across America Festival by the Do Orchestra, Albuquerque, New Mexico.
  • 1992
    Metaphysics for narrator and seven boom-boxes.
    Performed at the Society of Composers International, Cleveland, Ohio by the University of Akron Percussion Ensemble.
  • 1991-1992
    faith hope love (an opera).
    Premiere, UNM Composers' Symposium, Skumbaag and friends, 1995.
  • 1991-1992
    Decline of the West for Female Vocalist and All-Male Heavy Metal Band.
    Premiered by Skumbaag, March 1992.
  • 1991
    Three Short Pieces: For Frank Bowen (solo flute), Five (brass quintet), Four Interludes from Downward Facing Dog (piano).
  • 1991
    Music for the play Downward Facing Dog by Kestutis Nakas.
    Performed by the composer at the Experimental Theatre, UNM.
  • 1991
    Friends for piano and crotales.
    Written for Links performance ensemble.
    Premiere: Albuquerque, NM.
  • 1990
    Pastorale, for solo percussion and television white noise.
    Composed for a collaboration with sculptor Bill Gilbert and choreographer Bill Evans. Premiere: Albuquerque, NM.
  • 1989
    Bow for solo crotales.
    Premiere: Grand Junction, CO.
  • 1989
    64 Statements re: and not re: Child of Tree for amplified cactus, speaker, percussion and four-channel tape.
    Premiere: Strathmore, MD.
  • 1988-1989
    water/peace for percussion (two players), spoken text and two channel electronic tape.
    Premiered in Montreal in collaboration with sculptor Basia Irland.
  • 1988
    Oneiro for percussion trio.
    Performed at the Percussive Arts Society International Convention, 1992 by the Links Ensemble. Video (2015) by Hee Sook Kim. Performed by Crossing 32nd Street (Simone Mancuso, Doug Nottingham, Brett Reed).
  • 1988
    motion/less for percussion solo.
    Premiered by the composer at the University of Maryland-Baltimore County's Progressions Guest Artist Series, 1988.